Painting Butterflies in Watercolour

Here is a lovely tutorial by one of my favorite artists, Alison Fennell, on how to paint butterflies (butterflies = instant happy). Hope you enjoy learning and checking out her blog. She offers some truly charming watercolor works!

Alison Fennell Art

I felt the urge to paint some loose and abstract butterflies this week and so I dusted down my camcorder and filmed my progress.

pillow butterfly copy

I hope you enjoy watching and that you may like to try them too.

butterfly red admiral  etsy

Techniques and materials

I used hot pressed watercolour paper and Winsor & Newton tube watercolour paint.

Each butterfly has several layers or washes and I leave each wash dry before re-wetting (only when previous wash is BONE dry) so that I can then float in further stronger washes while still keeping it looking soft)

I call this controlled wet-into-wet because you have the best of both worlds – pigment flaring into wet paper and a controlled boundary (the dry paper)

My butterfly prints and other items such as pillows are lovely gifts for garden lovers now that Spring is just around the corner.

Check out my items by clicking on the images.

View original post

Paint Your Thoughts Here

