Inspiration Fluttering By

butterfly on a flower
black swallowtail butterfly

When it comes to my artwork, one of the inspirations that keeps motivating me is … butterflies!  I love their bright colors and lovely diverse shapes.  On top of that, it makes me blissful and calm when I think of how gracefully and easily they navigate their surroundings, fluttering through the air or landing on one flower and then the next.  Never in a hurry and always, seemingly, bearing a sense of purpose.

I am lucky, then, that we have a butterfly garden in a nearby park.  It houses many beautiful plants and features which draw in fluttering beauties continually during the summer months.  As a way to get inspired, I recently decided to visit there, and let me tell you, I was not disappointed.  The day was sunny and beautiful, and there were many different types of butterflies visiting flowers all around.

small butterfly visiting a flower
small butterfly visiting a flower

In the middle of the garden, there were chairs where visitors could lounge and take in a view of the garden or relax with a book.  What a lovely place!

a circle of chairs in a butterfly garden

I circled the entire grounds several times and stopped to observe as many butterflies as I could.  They allowed me to come very close, as you can see here (I took all pictures with a smartphone and did not zoom in!):

wpid-20150721_141204.jpg

Bees were also enjoying the bright blooms and nectar buffet.  Luckily they were too occupied with work to get agitated about a camera “buzzing around.”

two bees collecting nectar
two bees collecting nectar

Here are all of the great scenes I was able to capture at the garden.  I can’t wait to recreate some of these beautiful things with my paintbrush!

Paint Your Thoughts Here

