INKed

I have been fascinated and delighted by ink/watercolor works for quite some time now, so I decided to give it a shot myself.  I just love way the free flow of the watercolor lends a contrast to the precision of the pen.  I worked on a dragonfly first and was very generous with the color surrounding it.  It was a bit overwhelming I thought, so I hashed out a betta fish and was a bit more restained with the colors.  The latter is definitely much more my style, and I think the drawing has more room to stand on in that piece.

My tools of choice for this project were a Faber-Castell PITT artist pen in black (waterproof india ink), Winsor & Newton watercolor pigments and Strathmore 140 lb. watercolor paper.  A pretty easy project and so much fun.  Give it a go, and let me know what you think!

20160210_070852

IMG_20160210_012104

Paint Your Thoughts Here

