Modern Scream

Welcome to our newest installment of What’s Next Wednesday!  This week’s challenge is:

Recreate your own version of The Scream by Edvard Munch, but add a modern element!

Don’t forget to post your work at #whatsnextwed for all to see!  I had a blast with this piece, although I came to realize that I am much better at recreating three dimensional subjects than two dimensional ones!  It was also a new experience for me to recreate, with watercolors, some of the painterly details that were originally rendered in paints/pastels.  So here is my version:

20160713_002643-1-1

 

 

As you can see, I added headphones, which gave the expression a whole new context.  I will let you interpret the context as you wish.  I also took to heart that the clouds were originally linked to blood in Munch’s painting. This inspired me to really “go for it” when adding the red in the sky and to let the colors flow as they wanted to, much like blood might flow across the sky if it could.  Hope you have fun playing with this piece this week!

One thought on “Modern Scream”

Paint Your Thoughts Here

